The Infamous Live


Fat Beats

Reimagining Mobb Deep’s iconic 1995 opus ‘The Infamous’, NYC-based saxophonist and composer Benny Reid’s ambitious new project is a collection of acoustic, sample-free renditions, built from the ground up, performed entirely by the multi-instrumentalist auteur.

The forthcoming ‘The Infamous Live’ comes on the heels of Reid’s Billboard-charting take of Eric B & Rakim’s ‘Follow The Leader’. From this, Mobb Deep’s Havoc discovered his work and authorized him to reconstruct the timeless Mobb Deep album, giving Reid input and working with him in the studio to complete the project. His limited 7″ of “Shook Ones Pt. II” previewing the project, sold out quickly upon release in December 2022.

Shook Ones Pt. II + Remixes


Fat Beats

Reimagining MOBB DEEP’S iconic 1995 opus THE INFAMOUS, NYC-based saxophonist and composer BENNY REID unveils the ambitious project’s first single “SHOOK ONES PT. II” with a completely acoustic, sample-free rendition of the timeless track. Backed with the blessing and co-sign from HAVOC, the forthcoming THE INFAMOUS LIVE comes on the heels of Reid’s #1 Billboard-charting take of Eric B & Rakim’s FOLLOW THE LEADER. Havoc became aware of his work and authorized him to re-record an instrumental cover album of THE INFAMOUS – the first of its kind – in an entirely live interpolation, completely arranged and performed by Reid himself.

With the full-length record set to drop in winter 2023, Reid has teamed up with Fat Beats to release the limited 7″ pressing of “Shook Ones, Pt. II” which comes equipped with two non-album mixes; an Extended Jazz Remix and a remix from PYRMDS.

Follow The Leader


Fat Beats

Billboard Charting Record (Jazz Albums #1, Contemporary Jazz Albums #1, Heatseekers Albums, Independent Albums)

Benny Reid and Jonathan Hay had numerous discussions on how to respectfully, faithfully, and creatively re-imagine Eric B. & Rakim’s classic 1988 album, Follow the Leader. The difficulty was twofold. One, Follow the Leader is a revered and iconic hip-hop album and had to reflect its adoration. Two, how can it be translated to a jazz style, especially omitting the centerpiece, Rakim’s voice? Reid (lead instrumentalist – tenor saxophone, alto saxophone, bari saxophone, flute, producer) and Hay’s (producer) initial strategy of replaying Rakim’s extended, rhythmically intricate rap verses organically morphed into a more improvised, classic jazz style.




Concord Jazz

Benny Reid is a unique new voice on the contemporary jazz scene. Still in his twenties, his alto sax speaks with authority beyond his years, and his soaring, emotionally charged melodies make it immediately clear to the listener that this is a new jazz presence who will be with us for many years to come. Benny has surrounded himself with an ensemble of 5 of the best young players in the New York area and has produced this debut CD with the confidence and finesse of a veteran.

Features Benny Reid on alto saxophone, keyboards, and vocals on “Transient Melody” and “Waves Of Red;” Richard Padron on guitars; Aaron Goldberg on piano, Rhodes; Reuben Rogers on bass; Antonio Sanchez on drums; Jeff Taylor on vocals; and Ryan Fitch on percussion on “Destiny?” and “Dancing With My Father.”

escaping shadows Benny Reid

Escaping Shadows


Concord Jazz

Saxophone wunderkind Benny Reid returns with the follow-up to his impressive Concord Jazz debut Findings. Escaping Shadows include an inspired collection of nine originals, plus a moving arrangement of Pat Metheny’s “Always and Forever.” With this new CD Reid truly comes into his own… with his warm tone, great playing, distinctive, catchy melodies and infectious grooves. Grounded in the tradition of classic modern jazz, yet with his own original twist, he blurs the lines of musical category, making this album less about genre and more about great music. The album features Benny Reid (alto saxophone & keyboards), Richard Padron (acoustic &electric guitars), Pablo Vergara (piano, Fender Rhodes, keyboards), Daniel Loomis (bass & electric bass), Kenny Grohowski (drums), Jeff Taylor (vocals), and Ryan Fitch (percussion).